Elaine Nekritz
Nekritz Receives Legislator of the Year Award from IPTA

State Representative Elaine Nekritz (D-Northbrook) has received the Legislator of the Year award from the Illinois Public Transportation Association (IPTA).  The IPTA consists of nearly 60 members, including the Chicago Transit Association and the IL Department of Transportation.  Through legislative advocacy and promoting research of transportation issues in Illinois, the ITPA assists their members in providing the best public transportation possible.

“The contributions that Representative Nekritz has made to transit in Illinois are numerous and significant,” said Illinois Public Transportation Association President Rocky Donahue. “We’re extremely pleased to present her with this well-deserved award for being a great friend to transit and the people who rely on it.”

Representative Nekritz received this award for her policy work with PACE this past legislative session.  She sponsored legislation to assure that funding for disabled riders across the Chicagoland region would continue to be available.  Federal law mandates that paratransit service be provided and Pace Bus is the agency in northeast Illinois in charge of those services.

“I am grateful to Pace for this recognition,” said Representative Nekritz.  “The downturn in the economy has affected everyone, including our transit systems.  It was critically important to resolve the funding issues on behalf of disabled riders who are dependent on reliable bus service in the Chicagoland region.”


Nekritz received the award on Monday, September 13, 2010 at the IPTA annual conference in Fairview Heights, Illinois.

Comments are closed.

Paid for by Citizens for Elaine Nekritz
PO BOX 2563 Glenview, IL 60025
Email: info@nekritznow.com